3: Feel Good Food

 

Breakfast: Overnight Oats and Grande Iced Coffee
Snack: Sugar Snap Peas & String Cheesea
Lunch: Homemade Chinese Chicken Salad w/ diet root beer
Snack: Banana and Pretzel Crisps
Dinner: WW BBQ meatloaf sandwich w/ light caesar salad

Today was day two of making all my meals at home. It feels so good to do things right and follow a plan. We really have to retrain ourselves when it comes to meal planning, grocery shopping and cooking.  It seems so brainless, but when you fall deep into bad habits they are difficult to change. My goal would be to buy all the groceries for the week and go to the farmer’s market on Sundays. In a perfect world this would help save money and avoid spending the time at the store after a long day at work.

One of those most noticeable things today was that I felt like I got to eat a lot of food. I really enjoyed all of the snacks and recipes I tried. I didn’t have to compromise and still stayed within my point range. I can’t stress how important it is to me to have the support of the people around me in order to stay motivated. I’m lucky enough to have enjoyed lunch and dinner with my husband today.

Breakfast is still weird for me – I don’t really eat breakfast because I drink coffee and am not hungry. Today I managed to eat about 1/2 cup of oatmeal with fruit.  Once I get in an exercise rhythm, I really need to make breakfast a permanent staple in my diet. At lunch, hubby grilled up some chicken thighs while I diced up veggies for a Chinese Chicken Salad. It was a low points/calorie recipe and it was delicious! We really liked the sesame ginger dressing made by Open Nature for only 35 calories per 2 tablespoons. I also had a few yummy snacks today like snap peas, string cheese and cinnamon pretzel crips! Then, for dinner we made a BBQ Turkey Meatloaf and it was excellent! I turned mine into a sandwich with a low-cal wheat roll and we had light caesar salad on the side. Yum!

Recipes we used today: BBQ Meatloaf: http://www.skinnykitchen.com/recipes/barbeque-turkey-meatloaf/

Reflection for tomorrow: I need to stay on top of planning the meals and taking pictures of my food. When I have to post pictures of my food and look at them later, it really makes me aware of what I’m putting into my system. It feels good to look back and see pictures of good tasting/healthy food! As far as planning, I need to be 3-4 days out on all meal plans. For example, hubby goes back to work tomorrow and I’m not sure what I’m having for lunch and dinner. It’s easier to plan meals for 2 people, so I tend to struggle in that regard. Since he won’t be home tomorrow for lunch, I will pack us both healthy lunches to take with us. Tomorrow on my lunch break I plan to write out the meals for the next 3-4 days so I can stay on track for the weekend.

Leave a comment